Chill The F**k Out & Other Anecdotes

This is one of my most earliest posts snazzed up for your enjoyment, and mine because the original contained photos that weren’t even mine so theres that!

Sometimes, we find it difficult to relax. Life is busy, tough, chaotic, loud and sometimes just downright poopy. Here are some of my favourite ways to relax! At the end of the blog, I’ll be providing links for some of my favourite things from each section!

COOKING

Did you hear the joke about the butter? I’m not telling you, you might spread it!

So you don’t have to be a Mary Berry/Jamie Oliver to get involved in cooking. There are tonnes of one pot recipes, from pan to slow cooker, soups,spuds, sausages the lot! My favourite place to start is Pinterest. I tend to just search using ingredients I have in, in the hope someone out there has posted a recipe just for me. Taking time to concentrate on preparing all your ingredients, and then keeping check on your creation is a great way to switch off from the daily stressors. It might take energy and concentration but settling down with a home made dish is so rewarding. Here is one of my creations in process, a peppery & creamy spinach soup.

My cooking skills are so good, the fire alarm cheers me on!

image

Another great way to relax is

READING

After reading this you’ll realise the the brain doesn’t recognise a second “the”

Personally, reading is one of my favourite ways to pass the time. If you’re looking to switch off from everyday life, getting immersed in a book is a great way to do this. A good book can transport you anywhere, if you let it! Imagination is key here, visualising the words coming to life, is all in your power! However works of fiction, or real life stories aren’t all I would recommend to read, self improvement books are wonderful too, especially in helping you out of a rut. In my opinion you can’t beat a paper book, but smartphones offer access to great reading too. For example iBooks and the Amazon kindle app provide access to hundreds of books, best off all, tonnes of them are FREE!

I’m not addicted to reading! I can stop as soon as I’ve finished this next chapter!

 So this one may seem a little odd

COLOURING

If anyone needs me, I’ll be under my blanket fort – colouring!

Yes! Getting hold of pens, pencils and a colouring book is just happiness. I don’t know what it is about colouring in, but it settles me down so much! Something about expressing your feelings with colour is cathartic, or concentrating on creating an image using just your imagination and the black and white outlines for inspiration is so…settling! Colouring in is a way to transport yourself back in time to your inner child, it is innocent and simple, a good means of distraction – “me time”. You don’t have to buy child like colouring books filled with cartoon animals,  there are tonnes of adult colouring books available now too!

2045: Granny, why did Trump get elected?….Well back then, we were a bit distracted with colouring books!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this one might seem really odd

ASMR

How to sleep faster: Decorate your bedroom like a classroom

For those of you who don’t know, ASMR is an abbreviation of “autonomous sensory meridian response” (bit of a mouthful). Without being too scientific, ASMR feels similar to the chills we sometimes get when listening to music, but this response is from audio, visual or physical stimuli such as playing with hair, crinkly paper sounds, massage sounds or sensations, tapping even eating!  (FYI eating sounds, not for me, I definitely have misophonia!). ASMR has been described as “feeling sounds”, many people can recall early memories of their first ASMR experience, my earliest memory is having a school friend tickle my arm with a sharpened pencil at around the age of 6. The best part of ASMR, is although some people don’t experience the “tingles” or “chills”, almost everyone who experiences ASMR, feels either relaxed, or completely sleepy. I use ASMR videos almost every night to help me sleep. If you think you’ve ever experienced ASMR, or if you’re interested in learning more, please see the links below.

What did Spiderman say when he was watching a ASMR video?
My Spidey Senses are tingling

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Check out another post of mine, that’s all about Me First!

RECIPES

Slow cooker teriyaki chicken – http://bit.ly/1UMpcbR

Sweet potato soup – http://bit.ly/1PQkX6K

READING

Amazon kindle books – http://amzn.to/224Zj5F

You can download the app for free.

Apple have their own iBooks app too, with tonnes of books available both free and paid.

These are some books I highly recommend just from personal opinion.

Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins (read it before the film! The book is set in London, and the film in America)

Losing Time by Jodi Picoult (I am a fan of Picoult anyway, but this book just sealed the deal, moving, educational and surprising, a lovely read!)

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (a must read if you’re stuck in a rut, losing hope and need guidance)

Girl Code by Cara Alwill Leyba ( for all you fabulous females wanting to better yourselves, be it business or personal, great advice for dealing with negative ninnies and copycats)

Sparkle by Cara Alwill Leyba (as above! Great if you’re in a funk)

COLOURING

The Works (online and in store) have a great selection of colouring books, with themes such as mandalas, stained glass and fashion, you’ll definitely find something you like – not expensive either!

Or check out Amazon for themed colouring books, from Harry Potter to Game of Thrones!

ASMR

These two lovely ladies will help you understand ASMR, and possibly experience it too!

http://bit.ly/1RzrqZm

http://bit.ly/1W4Nr4d

For more information, have a look on Google and YouTube, there are hundreds of thousands of ASMR videos out there!

FOLLOW ME!

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Chill The F**k Out & Other Anecdotes

Leave a Reply

