Sparkle!

I am a lover of reading! At the minute I am getting heavily involved in self-help books, even though “self-help” makes my toes curl up and my lips snarl! Personal development reading? Motivational books? Whatevs, I’m on it.

I’ve just finished reading Sparkle, by blogger-turned life coach Cara Alwill Leyba. This is the second of her books I’ve read, I’ve just started the 3rd! It’s hard to resist a book that wants to take you “from functional to fabulous” 💖

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I’m sure you can assume I am a fan! I’ll get out the way probably the only negative thing I have to say about this book is that it reference champagne … a lot! Given that The Champagne Diet is the blog that spurned the writing of this book, it’s to be expected. That being said it should probably come with a trigger warning for anyone a little sensitive to the bubbles!

In this book, its all about the bubbles, physical and metaphorical! Be bubbly and celebrate it, with a glass of champers or your own choice of fizz! Referring to the inspiration for the name of the blog, and in turn the basis of the book “the name is a metaphor which reflects the way I decided to live my life: effervescently” Don’t you just love that word! It literally evokes feelings of fab-ness and lord knows thats what I wanna be!

The book is littered with the most relatable anecdotes about life as a woman, even though I’m sure if I wrote about my life growing up on scouse and homemade chips in Liverpool, it wouldn’t read half as well as stories about lasagne in an Italian American Family. I just want to be involved, I live vicariously through episodes of Real Housewives of New Jersey, I want to eat mozzarella as a food group, and have a drawn out accent that sounds cool instead of one that makes people say shit like “no need to guess where you’re from, whats ya favourite Beatles song!?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cara speaks freely about her struggles with everything from her weight, to jealousy of other successful women even toxic relationships, you cannot help but to take on board the advice thats written in a way your friend would say it. Especially a friend who embraces her “fat ass” and openly admits to leaving dodgy messages to her ex. Hang on is Cara actually a scouse bird because word on the street is that kind of behaviour is our speciality . 

This will sound like a back handed compliment but it defo isn’t! I really appreciated the simplicity of the advice, I was reading away different bits of advice and *like realising stuff* I mean, the knowledge was in me already I just needed to be told to do it, or rather that it was *ok* to do it. If you’re familiar with any of my posts you’ll have seen my advice on putting yourself first, I didn’t realise until I read Sparkle that actually I needed to practice what I preach. OOER.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What I loved most about this book, was the focus on fulfillment and self love, rather than massive lifestyle changes like live on coconut oil, eat sleep and breathe green tea, go the gym 4 times a day and meditate while you have a poo. The 3 chapters, Indulge Your Mind, Indulge Your Body and Indulge your soul, discuss ways to really bring out your best self. Not that *I* needed any help I’m extraordinary anyway! 

Girls and guys you can have your pizza and eat it, and you can have your prosecco and drink it. You can have everything you want as long as you work for it! Read this book to find out how you can do it all on your own. Life might not always go to plan, and set backs happen, but its all in how you handle it, hopefully with perfect nails (or not! you do you!).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Sparkle!

Leave a Reply

